Close this search box.

Texas Roadhouse vegan options – Disappointing at its finest

Table of Contents

As the name suggests, we don’t expect much good from this Texas restaurant chain, just like Whataburger. Another fast-food restaurant that mostly makes Southern-style dishes which means nothing but gravy meat. Anyway, we gave it a try and we took a deep look into Texas Roadhouse’s vegan offer. In short, we shouldn’t do that and we tell you why not.

What are the Vegan Options at Texas Roadhouse?

I will save you some time by saying there is nothing worthy vegan-friendly option at Texas Roadhouse. Almost everything contains gravy, meat, or dairy. 


It runs under buttered corn and obviously, without butter, it could be a vegan side dish.

Fresh vegetables

Of course, it normally comes with butter however you can ask for it without dairy products.

House salads

Well, if you exclude all the animal ingredients which are egg, cheese, and croutons you are left with plain greens. At least there is plant-based Oil & Vinegar as dressing.


Maybe you can use it as a dipping, who knows?


The only vegan options without compromising. In addition to this, It is free!

texas roadhouse the best vegan option is peanuts

Other things that may be vegan-friendly

There are some items that sound plant-based, but there are question marks around them. Let’s find out!

Are the Fries at Texas Roadhouse Vegan?

If you are not concerned by cross-contamination, then Steak fries could be a vegan option. However, they do not use a separate fryer for food items, so it shares the same kitchen equipment as other meat items.

steak fries is vegan at texas roadhouse

Baked potatoes

As far as we know, Plain Baked Potato and Plain Sweet Potato are cooked in grease. However, you can ask the staff if they could make it without it. Note: Cracker Barrels has vegan baked potatoes for sure.

Suiteed onion and mushrooms

It sounds very-very vegan-friendly, still according to the official site, it contains dairy. However, you can try to ask for it without butter.

Are Texas Roadhouse rolls vegan?

It could be suitable for us if exclude the meat and dairy stuffings however the roll itself contains eggs. How sad.

unfortunetaly rolls are not vegan at texas roadhouse

Big no-no

Fried pickle

Pickle is basically vegan, and there are restaurants where fried stuff like Sonic’s onion rings is vegan. Well, unfortunately at Texas Roadhouse the batter contains both dairy and eggs.

Seasoned rice

What could go wrong with plain rice? Well, everything. Probably the seasoning contains dairy and furthermore, it is cooked in chicken broth according to feedback. Such a shame.

Green beans

Well, It contains lots of animal ingredients such as bacon. Uhh…

Country vegetable plate

You can put together four plant-based sides listed above and that’s all.

Margaritas are vegan at texas roadhouse

The best part is here


At least the drinks make up for the meager food offerings. There is an enormous amount of margaritas and plenty of vegan cocktails.


  • Original Margarita
  • Hurricane Margarita
  • Mango Margarita
  • Raspberry Margarita
  • Strawberry Margarita
  • Jamaican Cowboy Margarita
  • Sangria Margarita
  • The Legend Margarita
  • Patron Margarita Kicker
  • 1800 Margarita Kicker


  • Texas peach Fuzz
  • Kenny’s Cooler
  • Sangria Red
  • Armadillo Punch
  • Southern Whiskey Long Island Iced Tea
  • Long Island Iced Tea
  • Top Shelf Long Island Iced Tea
  • Island Kicker

Also, If you don’t want to be tipsy, there are many soft beverages as well.

Relevant to this


Subscribe to our newsletter