Close this search box.

Sonic Drive vegan options – There is a huge surprise!

Table of Contents

What is Sonic-Drive-in?

The SONIC is one of the most popular drive-in fast-food restaurants in the country, so, many times we call it “The Drive-in”.  It is famous for its hamburgers, onion rings, fries, and milkshakes. So, a junk food restaurant basically. However, sometimes we are craving for such quick bites. The restaurant has changed a lot since its establishment in 1969, but it doesn’t mean Sonic has vegan options. Let’s find out the truth!

How to order vegan from the Sonic Menu

Starving to death…


Green Mountain Coffee

Coffee is made with 100 percent Arabica beans. You can add vanilla flavor, sugar, and sweetener to it.

Sandwiches and burgers

Nothing, literally. But…

Make your own vegan burger at Sonic!

While there are no premade plant-based food options or veggie burgers there, you can fill the hamburger bun with various toppings and sauces. Let’s see!

Ads ins:

  • Avocado
  • Dill Pickle Chips
  • Dill Pickle Spears
  • Hatch Green Chilies
  • Jalapenos
  • Lettuce
  • Diced Onion
  • Sauerkraut
  • Sport Peppers


  • Asian Sweet Chili Wing Sauce
  • Hickory BBQ
  • Ketchup
  • Mustard


  • Hamburger bun
  • Hot dog bun
  • Tortilla
  • Bagel (not everywhere)


Probably this is the best part of the vegan menu at Sonic Drive. Beware, you risk potential cross-contamination!

sonic french fries is vegan

French fries

Many fast-food chains – McDonalds for example – don’t have vegan-friendly french fries since they contain dairy or even worse. Luckily, Sonic Drive is not one of them. You can enjoy your fries with the various vegan sauce listed above like bbq sauce.

Tater tots

According to Sonic allergen guide, the tater tots are vegan for sure. What a surprise! The only downside is the shared frier told above.

crispy tots as vegan option at sonic drive

Pretzel twist

The soft pretzel twist is free from animal products, but it comes with cheese dippings. Luckily, there are many vegan substitutes for it.

Onion rings

You may be wondering if there are any vegan onion rings around there since all of them contain either eggs or dairy. Guess what, Sonic’s Onion Rings is totally vegan! 

are sonic onion rings vegan


Nothing at all.


  • Coca-Cola and Coca-Cola zero
  • Dr. Pepper and Diet Dr. Pepper
  • Fanta Orange
  • Fresh Brewed Sweet and Unsweet Tea
  • Green Mountain Coffee Roasters’ Hot Coffee
  • Green Tea (sugar-free also)
  • Hi-C Fruit Punch
  • Lemonade
  • Mello Yello
  • Minute Maid Orange and apple Juice
  • Powerade
  • Sonic Wave Bottled Water
  • Sprite and zero sprite

Frozen drinks

  • Lemonade Slush
  • Limeade Slush
  • Plain Slush Base

Extra flavors to it

  • Blackberry
  • Blue Coconut
  • Blue Raspberry
  • Cherry
  • Diet Cherry
  • French Vanilla
  • Grape
  • Mango
  • Peach
  • Raspberry


In short, Sonic is not the worst fast-food restaurant for vegans, however, it is far from good. There isn’t a single decent vegan option. On the other hand, at least the sides are pretty decent, especially the vegan onion ring. The downside is that all of them are deep-fried which means potential cross-contamination.

Relevant to this


Subscribe to our newsletter