Close this search box.

Does Burger King have vegan options? Every item in the US in 2023

Table of Contents

While veganism is on the rise, there are still many fast-food chains simply ignore it. However, BK isn’t of them.  Actually, Burger King was one of the first fast-food restaurants that launched its own vegan burger with meat-sustainable called Impossible Burger which is – almost – plant-based. Let’s see how far Burger King’s vegan menu went.

what are the vegan options at burger king

How to order vegan at Burger King in the United States?

Unfortunetaly, BK’s vegan options are a little bit bitter in comprehension with UK or India for example, however still better than most of the fast-food chains. So, what is vegan at Burger King?

Does Burger King have vegan burger?

Yes, It does. However it isn’t plant-based naturally unfortunetaly in the US. How comes? BK doesn’t have plant-based mayo,( or cheese), and the well-known Impossible™ Whopper comes with mayo, and the other one called Single Impossible King contains regular cheese. So, you have to exclude them from your order, and that’s all, the vegan burger is ready!

impossible whooper as vegan option at burger king

Impossible™ Whopper

single impossible king vegan option at bk

Single Impossible™ kING

What are Burger King vegan burgers made of?

  • The famous Impossible Whooper comes with a flame-grilled, plant-based patty with juicy tomatoes, crisp lettuce, creamy mayonnaise (unfortunetaly not vegan, so exclude it), ketchup, crunchy pickles, and sliced white onions on a toasted sesame seed bun.
  • There is another almost plant-based burger called Single Impossible King. It contains a flame-grilled patty* made from plants topped with melty American cheese (sadly, it isn’t cheeze so exclude it), sliced white onions, crunchy pickles, ketchup, and mustard all on a toasted sesame seed bun.

The 3.6 oz plant-based Impossible Patty contains the following ingredients according to the Impossible Foods company: Water, soy protein concentrate, coconut oil, sunflower oil, natural flavors, 2% or less of potato protein, methylcellulose, yeast extract, cultured dextrose, food starch modified, soy leghemoglobin, salt, mixed tocopherols (antioxidant), soy protein isolate, zinc gluconate, thiamine hydrochloride (vitamin B1), niacin, pyridoxine hydrochloride (vitamin B6), riboflavin (vitamin B2), and vitamin B12.

Beware, the plant-based patty is prepared on the same surface as other items such as meat patty!

Sides at BK

There are quite a few vegan side options at Burger King:

French Fries

A classic item that should be on every fast-food chain’s menu and it is supposed to be vegan naturally.

french fries is vegan at burger king

French Toast Sticks

Basically french fries with extra steps for breakfast only.  While the traditional French Toast is only vegetarian, the BK doesn’t use eggs or dairy to make it so, while Mcdo uses dairy in their seasoning. Does Mcdonald’s have better options than BK? Find out!

Onion Rings

This must be the most pleasant surprise for sure. Usually, people tend to use at least egg (or even dairy) in their crumbs. However, according to the allergen guide, Burger King’s onion rings are free from egg and dairy, so an accidentally vegan thing!

the onion rings are vegan at the burger king

Vegan Sauces at Burger King

There are no sides without dipping sauces. You can choose from the following ones 

  • BBQ Sauce
  • Sweet & Sour Sauce
  • Italian Salad Dressing

Is there Vegan Dessert at Burger King?

No, there is not a single vegan dessert available at BK. What a pity. The closest thing to dessert is Mott’s applesauce, which is the only vegan item on Kid’s menu. Even the oatmeal is made of milk.


There is nothing special, just the usual fast-food beverages like Coca-cola, Diet Coca-Cola, Fanta, Dr. Pepper, black coffee (and decaf),  Orange Juice, Apple Juice, Sprite, and Sweetened/unsweetened iced tea.

vegan drinks at burger king
vegan  coffee at bk

Is there any better vegan fast-food restaurant than Burger King?

While BK’s plant-based options aren’t bad at all, still there are many better places to visit. If you really want to have a great vegan burger, then you should definitely visit Slutty Vegan, which is a totally plant-based place. However, if you are craving for a little bit healthier option, then Cheesecake Factory is your place. What is vegan at Cheesecake Factory? Check out!

Picture saurces:

Relevant to this


Subscribe to our newsletter