Close this search box.

What are the vegan options at Taco Time?

Table of Contents

Taco Time is a well-known fast-food restaurant chain that specializes in Tex-Mex food. It was founded in 1960 and has more than 300 locations across the United States and Canada. You can enjoy many different types of American-Mexican dishes, such as burritos, Quesadillas, nachos, and, of course, tacos.

But the question is: Does Taco Time have vegan options? Tex-Mex restaurants usually have something for everyone since pinto beans, corn, tortillas, and some other typical items are basically vegan. But what’s the deal with TacoTime? Let’s find out!

what are the vegan options at Taco Time

What is vegan at Taco Time?

At first glance, Taco Time doesn’t look proper for vegans since almost everything contains meat or dairy. Secondly, Tacotime isn’t a vegan-friendly restaurant. Only a few things are plant-based or can be made vegan. But at least we won’t starve to death there. Here is the list:

  • Crisp Pinto Bean Burrito
  • Veggie Burrito (no cheddar or sour cream)
  • Seasoned Rice
  • Refritos
  • Black Beans
  • Mexi-Fries®
  • Cinnamon Crustos®
  • Empanada Plain
  • Most of the items at the Salsa bar
  • Taco Salad (no cheddar or meat)
  • Fiesta Chicken Salad (no cheeses, no meat)
  • Nachos (no cheddar, no jack cheese, sour cream, and meat)
  • Coffee
  • Orange Juice
  • Drinks
best vegan options at taco time

What are the best vegan options at TacoTime?

Unfortunately, Taco Time does not offer a dedicated vegan main dish, unlike Torchy’s, which offers cowboy-style plant-based mince meat. Still, it is acceptable since a few items can be satisfying. 

Crisp Pinto Bean Burrito

If you exclude the cheese when ordering, you will receive refried pinto beans hand-rolled in a flour tortilla and then cooked to crispy perfection.

Veggie Burrito

It won’t be that bad without cheese and sour cream. Still, I got fried pinto beans, seasoned rice, lettuce, homemade salsa fresca, and sunflower seeds wrapped in a whole-grain tortilla. The whole grain tortilla was a huge pleasant surprise. It is healthier than a white one.

Seasoned Rice

Seasoned rice is a must-have Tex-mex side; it is flavourful and usually vegan.


It is far, far tastier than ordinary fries, and luckily, Taco Time’s seasoning is vegan.


Unfortunately, you must exclude half of it, but at least you will hopefully get more vegan options. Nachos with guacamole and salsa are always welcome, and the pinto bean is a great source of extra protein.

Cinnamon Crustos®

Most fast-food restaurants lack a vegan sweetness besides a kid’s fruit cup. Cinnamon Crustos is a tortilla covered with cinnamon and sugar. It isn’t a big deal, but it is still uncommon.

Taco Time’s vegan options in a nutshell

Honestly, Taco Time is not one of the best vegan options among fast-food restaurants, but it is pretty enjoyable. While no vegan meat substitute exists, Veggie and Crispy Pinto Bean burritos are still a decent meal option. Seasoned rice and Tex-Mex fries are always lovely, and you can always have spicy beans for extra protein. Also, there was a massive surprise since Taco Time has a vegan dessert. Cinnamon Crustos is not a vast, must-have item, but it is pretty good.

Taco Time compared to other Tex-Mex fast-food chain

As I told you before, TacoTime isn’t the best place for vegans, but it isn’t the worst either, probably.

For example, Taco Time is much better than El Pollo Loco. Pollo doesn’t have as much plant-based items as TacoTime

However, there are far better options as well. As mentioned before, Torchy’s has a real plant-based minced beef substitute. Also, On the Border has portobello mushrooms, which make the dishes more flavorful. I would go to Torchy’s or On the Border instead of Taco Time.

Relevant to this


Subscribe to our newsletter