Close this search box.

What are the vegan options at Denny’s? Not bad, not bad at all

Table of Contents

Denny’s, a well-known American diner-style restaurant chain, is famous for its 24-hour service and relaxed dining atmosphere. Its extensive menu caters to all meals of the day, offering various options such as pancakes, omelettes, burgers, sandwiches, salads, and steaks. While Denny’s is often associated with its Grand Slam breakfast, which typically includes eggs, bacon, sausage, and pancakes or toast, it’s important to note that it also caters to various dietary preferences, even for vegans, more or less. With locations across the United States and several other countries, Denny’s is known for its affordability, family-friendly environment, and round-the-clock service.

As you can see, the most well-known items at Denny’s are not vegan-friendly. However, this doesn’t mean Denny’s has no vegan options. So, here is the real question: does Denny’s have vegan options? 

Actually, it isn’t that bad since they have a plant-based patty, which makes a huge difference. You can make a delicious vegan burger at Denny’s with  Dr. Praeger’s Veggie Patty. Also, there are some quite good plant-based sides. So, in my opinion, while Denny’s is not the best fast-food restaurant for a vegan, it is still worth a try!

Let’s see the details!

what are the vegan options at denny's

What is vegan at Denny’s?

It is quite disappointing at first glance; however, it isn’t that bad if you take a closer look. Here is the short list of Denny’s vegan options:

  • Corn Tortilla Chips
  • Potato Bread
  • Flour Tortilla
  • English Muffin
  • The following sauces and Condiments are available: Italian, French, Balsamic Vinaigrette, ketchup, mustard, Jams, Savory Herb Sauce, Hot Pepper Sauce (red, green), Heinz 57, 5-pepper Sauce, and syrups.
  • Red-skinned potatoes
  • French fries: wavy and seasoned, also.
  • Hash browns
  • Bread: Artisan, potato, rye, 7grains, sourdough
  • Cereal, oatmeal (no dairy)
  • Crackers
  • Vegetables: Corn, Herb-Glazed, Fire-Roasted Bell Peppers and onions, Jalapeños, Mushrooms, Onions, Pickles, Vegetable Medley.
  • Build your own slam (explained later)
  • Salads with modifications (explained later)
  • Some of the burgers have modifications (explained later).
vegan options at dennys

How to build your vegan slam

Since Slam is built around eggs and sausages, it won’t be an awesome deal for a vegan; however, it is worth a try.

  • Potatoes:
    • Hash browns
    • Red-skinned potatoes
  • English muffin
  • White toast (no butter)
  • Fresh seasonal fruits.
  • Coffee or orange juice as extra.

Ain’t much, but you can try.

How do you make a vegan burger at Denny’s?

Strange, but Denny’s doesn’t have veggie burgers, while they have vegan patties. They offered Beyond Meat patties a few years ago, but now you can substitute the meat patty with Dr. Prager’s® Veggie Patty at a little extra cost. This is the way. So, here is the list of the burgers that you can make vegan:

  • Single Cheeseburger: You have to exclude cheddar cheese and substitute the patty. It won’t be a big deal, but it isn’t that bad.
  • Slamburger: It is the best choice. Substitute for veggie patty, excluding cheese and eggs. You can add extra avocado slices and choose one of the vegan sides.
  • Bourbon Bacon Burger: You shouldn’t choose this one. While you can substitute the patty, there are still many non-vegan items—even the sauces non-vegetarian.
  • Bacon Avocado Cheeseburger: You must exclude bacon, cheese, and mayo. Also, don’t forget to ask for a veggie patty. It is the same as a Single Cheeseburger but with extra avocado.
  • Flamin’ 5-Pepper Burger: You must exclude bacon, cheese, and mayo and substitute Prager’s patty. It will be the same as a single cheeseburger but with pepper sauce.

If you ask me, I would choose Slamburger’s vegan version or Avocado Cheeseburger.

Available vegan sides to the burgers:

  • Hash browns,
  • French fries (seasoned and wavy),
  • Red-skinned potatoes,
  • Fresh seasonal fruits.

Make your own cruelty-free Santa Fe skillet

It won’t be a big deal so I wouldn’t recommend it. But still, it’s a vegan option.

  • Exclude Chorizo sausage or try to substitute it with a veggie patty.
  • No eggs.
  • No cheese.
  • White toast (no butter), or flour tortilla.
  • You can add extra avocado, mushrooms, or roasted pepper.

How to make vegan-friendly salad at Denny’s?

Denny’s has four different salad options; however, if you exclude the animal ingredients, they won’t be too different.

  • Mama’s Fried Chicken House Salad: Exclude the meat, cheese, and croutons. Choose one of the vegan dressings. It will be quite plain, with only iceberg lettuce and grape tomatoes in a dressing.
  • Let’s Cobb About It Prime Rib Cobb Salad: Exclude the meat, bacon, cheddar, and egg. There won’t be much either: Bed of iceberg mix, with potato sticks and grape tomatoes with vegan dressings of your choice.
  • Egg-Cellent Grilled Chicken Cobb Salad: This is the same as above, but it excludes chicken, egg, and bacon. It will be the same but with extra avocado.
  • Salmon Salad Your Way: When you order, exclude the salmon fillet, cheddar cheese, and croutons. Instead, it comes with an iceberg mix, a blend of garlic and herbs, grape tomatoes, cucumbers, and your choice of vegan dressings.

If you ask me, I would choose Egg-cellent or Salmon salad since you will get the most out of your money. You can also ask for extra avocado for each of them.

The following dressings are vegan: Light Italian, balsamic, and French.

Vegan sides

Some plant-based sides are not mentioned above, so here is the whole list to make it clear:

  • Seasoned fries: yes, the seasoning doesn’t contain animal ingredients.
  • Wavy cut french fries
  • Garden Salad
  • Broccoli

What items do you have to avoid as a vegan at Denny’s?

Some items on the menu look like a vegan option but are far from it. Here is the list of what you should avoid if you are eating as a vegan:

  • Onion rings: This is the less surprising one since most onion rings are not vegan, as they contain dairy or eggs. However, Sonic’s onion rings are vegan!
  • Pancakes: Pancakes are usually not vegan. Unfortunately, Denny’s pancakes aren’t vegan, either.
  • Tomato sauce: According to Denny’s allergenic guide, it isn’t even vegetarian! That’s a huge surprise.
  • Gravies: all of them non-vegetarian.
  • Bourbon sauce: contains beef, yikes.
  • All of the fried items, if you are aware of cross-contamination.
  • While crackers are vegan, Goldfish crack isn’t since it contains dairy.
what should not to eat as vegan at dennys

Denny’s vegan options in a nutshell

While I wouldn’t say Denny’s is the best place to eat as a vegan, you can still count on it. Thankfully, Denny’s has a Vegan veggie patty so that you can make quite okay vegan burgers. Also, there are many vegan sides. The salads and other items like Slam, and Santa Fe Skillet can be made vegan. However, I do not recommend them since they won’t be a big deal. Furthermore, there is no real vegan sweetness on their menu. I can only order a fruit cup as a vegan, which isn’t a huge deal. Overall, it isn’t bad, but so many opportunities are missing.

Relevant to this


Subscribe to our newsletter