The American multinational restaurant chain mainly focuses on breakfast items, especially pancakes. The name also hinted at this, since IHOP is an acronym for International House of Pancakes. However, their world-famous pancake isn’t vegan since it contains dairy. So, let’s see how to order vegan at IHOP!
IHOP vegan options
Although it is disappointing that there are no plant-based pancakes, on the other hand, the restaurant spoils us. In short, it is worth visiting.
Unfortunately, neither the pancakes nor the waffles are plant-based. However, you can still fill your stomach.
- Plant-based Sausage Power Combo: While its name is plant-based, it is still only vegetarian. Order it without scrambled eggs and choice the multigrain toast.
- Classic avocado toast: Simple, fresh, and more importantly vegan. You can choose between fresh fruit or hash browns as a side.
- Oatmeal: It is basically made with milk, however, you can order it with water. Not a great choice, still available.
- Crispy Breakfast Potatoes (the seasoning salt contains dairy)
- Fresh fruit cup
- Hash Browns
- Multi-Grain Toast
- French Toast (without seasoning salt)
- Grits (order without butter)
- Rice Medley
- English Muffin
You can spice up your order with extra ingredients, but based on the recommendation of the restaurant chain, avoid all the dressings.
- Roasted Cherry Tomatoes
- Sauteed Green Peppers & Onions
- Sauteed Mushrooms
- Sauteed Spinach
- Plant-based sausage patties (Sweet Earth)
It’s not an impressive option, especially without salad dressing, but it can be considered if someone wants a little green.
- Chicken & Veggie Salad: Iceberg lettuce mix, carrots, red cabbage, tomato, and red onion. You can add some extra items listed above. Exclude the chicken and the balsamic vinaigrette.
- Side salad: The house salad comes with a crisp lettuce blend, fresh sliced tomato, red onions, avocado, and mushrooms. Exclude the dressing.
- Brewed and Herbal Tea (Usually chamomilla and organic green tea)
- Coffee and decaf coffee
- Flavored & Regular Iced Teas
- Fountain Drinks
- Juices (Apple, Cranberry, Orange, Tomato, Grapefruit)
While the pancake house plant-based offer isn’t that bad, there are many missing items. There are no vegan pancakes, and as we can see, there are no plans for that at the moment. But at least, everything listed above is free from animal ingredients according to IHOP vegan guide.
Frequently asked questions
Are pancakes vegan at IHOP?
No, unfortunately, they contain both eggs and dairy. Since that, they can’t make it vegan.
Are IHOP fries vegan?
Luckily, unlike Mcdonald’s, french fries are cruelty-free at the breakfast restaurant.
Are IHOP hash browns vegan?
Yes, they are 100 percent vegan.
Does IHOP serve breakfast all day?
Since the best vegan options at IHOP are breakfast items, you may be wondering if they are available all day. Luckily, you can enjoy them all day from 6 am till 10 pm and until midnight at weekend.