Search
Search
Close this search box.

Tim Hortons vegan offer – Better than you think

Table of Contents

A brief history of the well-known coffee chain

The Canadian restaurant chain is older than you think. Tim Horton – who played in the National Hockey League for 25 years – founded the first doughnuts store in 1964. Fast forward to 2000, the 2000th opened in Toronto to celebrate the Millennium. After over 60 years, the Canadian chain – associated with its signature coffee – made its way to the United Kingdom, the United States, and the Philippines.

Does Tim Hortons have vegan options?

In short, certainly does! Let’s start with the most important part: the signature coffees.

Dairy-free milk

Not everyone likes their coffee black, so check out the plant-based milk option.

  1. Coconut milk,
  2. Oat milk,
  3. Soya milk (some Tim Hortons locations may not have) and
  4. Rice milk.

Unfortunately, they charge a surcharge. 

Coffee

The coffee at Timmies is a blend of 100% arabica beans and It is always served within 20 minutes of brewing.

  • Balanced roast, aka Original Blend Coffee (the most popular)
  • Dark Roast Coffee
  • Decaf Coffee
  • Iced Coffee (Order with dairy-free milk)
  • Latte, Iced or Hot (Order with dairy-free milk)
  • Cold Brew
  • Americano
  • Vanilla Almond Iced Coffee or Latte (Order with dairy-free milk)

Furthermore, you can add an extra espresso shot to any coffee.

Extra flavors

  • Vanilla 
  • Chocolate
  • Roasted Hazelnut
  • Sugar-Free Vanilla
  • Sugar-Free Hazelnut

Cold and hot drinks

In addition, there are many other drinks besides coffee that can be plant-based.

  • Strawberry Coconut Refresher
  • Orange Tangerine Refresher
  • Half & Half Lemonade Iced Tea
  • Strawberry Iced Lemonade
  • Frozen Lemonade
  • Strawberry Frozen Lemonade
  • Chai latte (Order with dairy-free milk)
  • Hot Tea (you can ask for non-dairy milk as well)
  • Iced Tea, Sweetened or Unsweetened
  • Iced Lemonade

You may notice one missing common hot drink on the list. The question arises: is Tim Hortons hot chocolate vegan? Unfortunately, It is premade, so it won’t be free from animal ingredients even if you ask for a milk substitute.

Breakfast

The Canadian chain is famous for its coffee, so does Tim Hortons have vegan food at all? Well, the answer is pretty simple: yes!

Bagels

Good news! Most of the Tim Hortons bagels are vegan!

  • Caramel Apple
  • 12 Grain Bagel
  • Blueberry
  • Cinnamon Raisin
  • Everything
  • Plain
  • Pretzel-Style Bagel

Moreover, there are cruelty-free toppings such as Strawberry Jam, Peanut Butter, and Concord Grape Jelly.

Other breakfast or side dishes

There are some other items on the menu which is plant-based and can serve as a breakfast or side dish.

  • Oatmeal – with maple or mixed berry
  • Hash brown
  • Avocado toast (In the United States)
  • English muffin
  • Homestyle biscuits
  • Potato wedges.
best vegan option at tim hortons is hash browns

Main Courses

The store is primarily a cafe and breakfast place, so don’t expect much from it.

  • Vegetable Soup (Not available in every location)

Is there anything else? Unfortunately, no. Tim Hortons launched vegan options with Impossible meat last year, however, It didn’t become permanent.

Desserts

  • There is no sweetness

As we wrote before, the restaurant is mainly focused on coffee and breakfast options. So, we would expect some delicious plant-based desserts – like vegan donuts – next to your coffee. Unfortunately, there are no vegan doughnuts at Tim Hortons. Moreover, all of the desserts are non-vegan. What a pity.

are tim hortons donuts vegan

Disclaimer

In the end, It is important to note that the company does not clearly state that any of the items are vegan since cross-contamination could occur.

Relevant to this

Trending

Subscribe to our newsletter