Close this search box.

Does Jack in the Box have vegan options?

Table of Contents

Jack in the Box is a popular fast-food restaurant chain in the United States with over 2.200 locations according to American fast-food restaurant mostly focuses on chicken tenders, french fries, hamburgers, cheeseburgers, and tacos. While most of these items are not vegan naturally, however, it isn’t hard to make a plant-based version of it. For example, Burger King introduced Impossible Whooper.

what is vegan at jack in the box

So, What is vegan at Jack in the Box? Unfortunately, there isn’t much plant-based option at the fast-food restaurant. The only available vegan option is some sides and sauces, there is no main attraction for now, not even the tacos are vegan. The following items are vegan at Jack in the Box:

  • Side Salad
  • French Fries
  • Curly Fries
  • Hafsie fries
  • Hash brown
  • Spicy Corn Sticks
  • Low Fat Balsamic Vinaigrette Dressing
  • Barbecue Dipping Sauce
  • Franks Red Hot Lime Dipping sauce
  • Pancake syrup
  • Sweet N’Sour dipping sauce
  • Ketchup
  • Mustard
  • Tree Top Apple Sauce pouch
  • Drinks

Let’s check the details!

jack in the box vegan options

What are the vegan options at Jack in the Box?

In short, the only vegan option is potatoes with various dipping sauces. Doesn’t sound too exciting, does it? Well, it isn’t the best vegan fast-food restaurant, to be honest. Let’s see the most interesting items one by one!

Is Jack in the Box fries vegan?

Fries are vegan at Jack in the Box. Furthermore, the only notable plant-based item on the restaurant’s menu. On the other hand, at least there are plenty of different fries options, so at least you can mix it up a little bit. Unlike McDonald’s, where not even the fries are vegan. Important note: cross-contamination is a huge risk.

French fries

The classic fries are cut into even strips and fried in vegetable oil.

Curly Fries

Jack in the Box’s signature fries which is vegan. Crispy, seasoned and curly, that’s all.

Halfsie Fries

If you can decide if you want french fries or curly fries, this is your choice. Half of it is classic fries, and the other half is curly.

Hash Brown

Another perfect use for potatoes is hash brown. Hash brown is naturally vegan since it is nothing, but shredded potato, flour, and oil fried in a pan.

Side Salad

If you exclude croutons, the side salad will be vegan and contains  Iceberg Lettuce, Romaine Lettuce, Cucumbers, Carrots, and Grape Tomatoes.

Chicken teriyaki bowl

Grilled chicken strips with veggies, white rice & sweet and savory teriyaki sauce. Obviously, you must exclude chicken. It isn’t better than a side salad, to be honest.

Corn sticks

Another great vegan side option is the Corn sticks. Enjoy it with one of the plant-based sauces.


At least, there are many different vegan sauces next to the “potato dishes”.

  • Low Fat Balsamic Vinaigrette Dressing
  • Barbecue Dipping Sauce
  • Franks Red Hot Lime Dipping sauce
  • Sweet N’Sour dipping sauce
  • Ketchup
  • Mustard


Nothing extraordinary, classic Coca-Cola products, various iced tea, black coffee, energy drink, water, and juices.

What is not vegan at Jack in the Box?

There are some items that might be plant-based, but they are not. Here is the list, that you definitely must avoid.

taco is not vegan at jack in the box

Are Jack in the Box tacos vegan?

Probably the most important question regarding the fast-food chain. However, there is no vegan taco, and there is no way to make a decent one without animal ingredients.

Onion rings

Unfortunately, Panko onion rings contain dairy, so it isn’t vegan. If you craving vegan onion rings, you should visit Sonic.

Are there vegan burgers?

No, Jack in the Box doesn’t have any kind of veggie patty, so it is impossible to make a plant-based burger. While it is super easy to make a vegan burger with items such as Beyond-meat patties, the fast food restaurant doesn’t willing to do so.


It isn’t vegan either, since contains eggs and dairy.

Relevant to this


Subscribe to our newsletter